Mini Mile 2014 Report

For release: Saturday 05 April 2014
Download PDF version »

Record Breaking festival of running
There was a huge buzz in the air around Preston Park as the 2,500 boys and girls taking part in this year’s ICONIQ Shlurp! Mini Mile gave their all in front of a huge crowd of families and friends lining the course offering vocal support.
In the brand new venue of Preston Park and a record breaking entry, the Mini Mile fully lived up to expectations.
With no rain in sight and next to no wind, conditions were perfect for these young athletes to have a blast and make themselves and their families proud.
And they didn’t disappoint, with two new Mini Mile records coming courtesy of Tom Ridley (Worthing Harriers) in the Under-11 Boys’ category and Almi Nerurkar (Brighton Phoenix) in the Under-15 Girls’. 
Ridley, in the first race of the day, set the tone coming in at a brisk 5:48, squeezing under Samuel Betts’ 2011 record of 5:50.
No such fine lines for Nerurkar, who in a fine display of speed and endurance smashed the previous U-15 record of 5:44 jointly held by Holly English (Priory) and Martha Coyle (Cardinal Newman), set in 2011 and 2012 respectively by a full 15 seconds, with a blistering time of 5:29.
This was undoubtedly the performance of the day, made even more impressive by the fact that Nerurkar, who only just turned 13 in January, still has a year left in the U-15 category. Given that her time represents a 34 second improvement over her clocking of 6:04 last year, we can expect even greater things from this promising young talent in the future.
Behind record-breaker Ridley in the Under-11 Boys’ category, Samuel Duncan of Brighton and Hove Athletics came second overall in 5:57, while Alex Brothwell of Brighton Phoenix placed third in 5:58.
The Under-11 Girls’ saw Kendaa Cameron-Chavannes (Bees Academy) take the top spot in 6:22, missing out on Amber Anning’s 2011 age-group record by the slender margin of two seconds. Rachel Shard and Millie Dickinson, both of Brighton Phoenix, placed second and third in 6:27 and 6:28 respectively.
In the Under-13 Boys’, Jamie Arnold of Brighton and Hove AC claimed top spot in 5:36, while Ben Walters (Lewes AC) came second with a 5:38 clocking, five seconds ahead of Tom Wright (Brighton and Hove AC).
Maia Hardman (Brighton Phoenix) topped the Under-13 Girls’ category with a time of exactly 6:00, while Katie Burgess and Katie Goodge, both of Tonbridge AC, came second and third in 6:05 and 6:16.
The Under-15 Boys’ title went to Jamie Goodge, with Robin Hoyte in second and James Puxty in third.
In the Under-15 Girls’ category, Elishka Coupar (Worthing Harriers) and Charlotte Matthews followed Almi Nerurkar home in 5:48 and 5:51 respectively.
Spencer Thomas topped the Under-18 Boys’ category, crossing the line in 5:04, well outside Charlie Grice’s record time of 4:18 set three years ago.
In the Under-18 Girls’, Amy Davila (Lewes AC) improved on her second place from 12 months ago, crossing the line in 5:51, while Phoebe Connolly (Brighton and Hove AC) pipped Polly Milsom to second place, both finishing in 6:03.
For complete results of individual races go to